Topics on this page
About billing and pricing
For general billing information about Trend Micro Cloud One, see About Trend Micro Cloud One billing and pricing.
Cost is based on hours during which your computers are protected by Deep Security Agent. Partial protection within a clock-hour boundary is considered a full hour. In the example below, you can see how this is calculated in the usage scenarios below.
How Workload Security counts protection-hours varies by how the computer was added:
- If added through Computers > Add Account: Protection-hours start when the instance is powered on, and include hours when the Deep Security Agent status is "Offline". Protection-hours stop when the instance is powered off, deleted, or the agent is uninstalled.
- If added through Computers > Add Computer: Same as above, but excludes hours when the Deep Security Agent status is "Offline".
Even if an agent's status is "Offline", protection continues with the agent's last known configuration. Other features such as centralized reporting, however, require connectivity with the Workload Security console. To troubleshoot, see "Offline" agent. Alternatively, if the computer is decommissioned and will be permanently offline, you should de-activate its agent on the Workload Security console.
Trial or subscription expired
If you would like to know what occurs after your trial or subscription expires, select your subscription type below.
Pay as you go
If you cancel your pay as you go subscription, your subscription type will automatically change to "Trial or Subscription Expired". Accounts with an expired trial or subscription only have access to Workload Security, with a maximum of 5 agents.
For more information about this subscription type, see Pay as you go billing.
If you do not renew your annual subscription, you will not be allowed any new activations and you will stop receiving updates, including pattern or rule updates. Your servers will continue to be protected and Anti-Malware scans will continue to run, however the protection might be outdated.
For more information about this subscription type, see Annual subscription.
After your free trial lapses, or when you cancel your pay as you go billing, your subscription type will change to "Trial or Subscription Expired". Accounts with an expired trial or subscription only have access to Workload Security, with a maximum of 5 agents.
For more information about this subscription type, see Free trial.
Legacy Workload Security billing methods
The following billing methods are no longer supported:
Annual + Pay as you Go
The Deep Security as a Service | Annual + Pay as You Go listing is no longer offered for new deployments. If you are already subscribed, you can continue to use it until the end of your term.
You are billed based on a number of seats, or 'licenses', that you pre-purchase from Trend Micro. 1 seat equals 1 agent, and can be purchased for a 1 month, 1 year, 2 year, or 3 year term. If you need to protect additional computers later, those overages are billed at the Pay as You Go rate.
To lower your costs, Trend Micro applies the Pay as You Go rate to the smallest size possible of your instances, and uses the (cheaper) seat license rate for your largest instances. For example, if you initially purchased 5 seats covering 5 medium instances, and then later added 4 more large instances, your 5 seats would cover the 4 large instances you just added plus 1 of your existing medium instances. The remaining 4 medium instances would be billed at the Pay as you Go rate.
Credit card billing is no longer offered for new deployments. You must move to a supported billing method to ensure you maintain your access to the service.
You are billed monthly for the protection-hours used the previous month. Workload Security tallies your hourly usage and sends the total owing that month to CleverBridge, a third-party billing service, which subsequently bills you. CleverBridge handles all credit card information so Trend Micro never sees any of it.
Credit card pricing is the same as Pay as you Go.