Table of contents

Understanding users and accounts

This page applies to new accounts created on or after August 4, 2021, and to accounts upgraded to the new sign in system.

An account is a container for your Trend Micro Cloud One services. Within each account, you can create and manage the resources, deployment, configuration, and security policy for the services in that account. Each account is locked to a single region, and is managed separately in terms of account administration, billing, and subscriptions. This ensures your security data stays in the region you choose for the account. However, you can still deploy and manage resources globally from any account.

A user is a unique identity that can be granted access to a Cloud One account. Each user authenticates with a set of unique credentials (email address and password). Once authenticated, users can see and make changes to one or more accounts and their resources based on the role assigned to that user.

In the example below, a company has 3 accounts with 3 different users. Each account is in a different region and managed separately.

  • User 1 has been invited and can access all three accounts, with full access in Accounts A and B and read only in Account 3.
  • User 2 has only been invited to Accounts A and B with a read-only role.
  • User 3 has only been invited to Account C, and cannot access the other two accounts.

Diagram of users and accounts

Frequently Asked Questions

Does each user need a Cloud One account?

No, you can invite many users to a single Cloud One account. Trend Micro recommends creating many Cloud One accounts only if you have a need to separate your deployments across multiple teams, business units, or environments. For more information, see inviting users.

What happens to users when I delete an account?

Deleting a Cloud One account does not delete the users, however they will no longer be able to access the account or its associated data.

Why can I no longer manage my user and account settings from Workload Security?

As part of recent changes to the way accounts are handled in Cloud One that separate users from accounts, user and account settings are no longer managed in Workload Security.